Tony Oursler

Started looking into the work of Tony Ourlser. At one point in this short documentary about his work he said that he ‘was always fascinated by how you constitute a figure in technology’, which has really excited me because I supposed one of my questions to myself is how do I constitute a figure using technology or otherwise but in regards to social media.

He also said he liked his work to engage with people as opposed to viewers, which in the moment resonated with me. And he also said, when speaking of some of his earlier work, that he liked to make things that looked like anyone could make them – and his puppets do have this kind of grunge theatre effect (mentioned in the video) that I feel inspired by.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

